[SCRIPT] GPS - a navigation and positioning system

• UPDATE: A version of this script as Java plug-in using the new plug-in API is available here. I suggest to use it instead of this older version.

This is my first attempt at a script of some complexity. I hope it will be useful: tests, suggestions, comments and criticisms are welcome.

Version 0.1 - Features

*) Displays current player heading as a standard navigation route and position in 'standard' geographic coordinates (N E) and block altitude:

Note that internal RW positive W longitude is converted into a more common positive E longitude.

*) Define a Home position and display radial, side (to the left or to the right of the player) and distance to it:

*) Define up to 9 waypoints and display radial, side and distance to any of them in turn:

*) Teleport to home and to any defined waypoint. Teleporting to waypoints can be disabled for servers which do not like players popping up everywhere. In fact, it is disabled by default; edit allowTpToWaypoints = false at the begining of gps.lua into allowTpToWaypoints = true to enable.

*) The scripts comes with English UI. However, UI tetxts are all grouped in a single file (messages.lua) to make translations easier.

Commands

/gpstoggles whole GPS display on/off
    /gps onturns whole GPS display on
    /gps offturns whole GPS display off
    /gps sethomeset home position to current position
    /gps showhometoggles home data display on/off
    /gps setwp [n] [name]sets n-th waypoint with name 'name' (both index and name are optional)
    /gps showwp <n>turns waypoint display on with n-th waypoint (n=0 to turn off)
    /gps listlists defined waypoints (incl. home)
    /gps home teleports to home (if defined)
    /gps goto <n> teleports to n-th waypoint (if defined and enabled)
    /gps helpdisplays a help summary
    /homesame as '/gps home' (for compatibility)
    /sethomesame as '/gps sethome' (for compatibility)

Installation