Zip vs Jars, Plugin nameing conventions, upgrades, and Maven repositories

A big new update is now available, introducing biomes, caves and much more!
Latest hotfix: 0.7.0.3 (2024-02-21)
  • Consolidating a few thoughts from other threads that I posted so I will be deleting them shortly..

I am concerned about how we will be installing/managing zips can be dificult to maintain and distribute. So I'm going to give some specific suggestions. This is all stuff I do for a living so I'm going to speak with some authority on the issue. I'll also go back and delete my posts in other threads since I'd like to keep this discussion in one place.

1. If we use zip files then everyone has to come up with their own way to manage and distribute their plugins.
    2. We need a way to track versions and be able to see incremental builds or development (snapshot) builds and distribute them easily.

I suggest we consider using Maven to build and distribute our plugins. I just purchased a standalone copy of RW to confirm this but it looks like the standalone uses a helper application as Minecraft does so awesome bbq sauce! Now we need something simlar for plugins and possibly eventually distribution of the server jar with maybe a helper application (or script as well)

I personally manage a a few different maven repos at my job. Sonatype Nexus OSS is a free version that could possibly be integrated into rising-world.net. Not sure how it would link up with the current user database but it might be possible to make it a repository for our community only. I'm currently experimenting with Sonatype on my personal web server so I'll folow up on this when I can.

Now, Netbeans supports Maven-based projects. Here's a quick-start with screenshots. Essentially this allows you to build a jar following the versioning standard that Maven uses and I'll sumarize below:
    https://platform.netbeans.org/…-maven-quickstart.html#01

So a few terms: