Explain setting a server up to a newb

• Hi there!

I'm completely new to games like Rising World and have never hosted a server in my life. My friend and I have spent the best part of two hours trying to either connect to each others games (via Open to LAN), or using the server files provided here Hosting a multiplayer game
    We've tried all the IP addresses imaginable (found through IPconfig and websites) and the "server" executable Jav file provided in the previous link won't load up, even after executing the windows script (whatever that means). So I'm at a total dead end. We're feeling pretty overwhelmed with information on the subject of servers frankly, when we're been told we can just connect through Open to LAN.
    I know it's probably a lot to ask, but can someone please, in plain English, explain how we connect to each others games, to someone who's not done 'anything' like this before. It's literally for 2 people to play together, so if we don't need the server, great.

Thanks! :)

• Do you live in the same household? Or do you want to play via internet?

First of all: Starting the "server.jar" directly causes the server to run in the background, this prevents you from starting it up again (since the port is now already occupied). So before doing anything else, please have a look in your taskmanager in the "Processes" tab and kill any "java.exe" or "javaw.exe" processes you can find ;)

• If you live in the same household (i.e. you're in the same local network), you can ignore the next steps. In this case you can simply start a LAN session by pressing the red "Open for LAN" button, and your friend can connect to your local IP address (the one you can get by typing "ipconfig" into the windows command prompt, it's the "IPv4-Address" there, usually it begins with "192.168.x.x").