Attribute help? very new.

• So to start off, i'll let you know for starters that i'm very new to java, as well as a few programming concepts.

so I'm working on a project, and trying to use player.setAttribute, and player.getAttribute. from what i can tell these can save a value to a hashmap, and pull said value from said hashmap.

i'm having trouble with .getAttribute.

sample code for what i'm doing

so and so odd thing is done, and saves something to a players Attribute.

if(blah == 1){ player.setAttribute(testattribute, 1);
    }

this part seems to "work"

however i'm having problems pulling the Attribute with getAttribute

Object test = player.getAttribute(testattribute);

i get the error "testattribute cannot be resolved to a variable"

i'm 95% sure i'm doing something wrong haha. if anyone could help point me in the right direction i'd love it! :):):)

• First of all the variable testattribute needs to exist. So, somewhere before using it, it should be defined.

Second, the prototype of the method in the API is: getAttribute(java.lang.String key); so the testattribute variable HAS to be a String; in summary, somewhere you have to put a statement like:

Code
    String testattribute = "SomeFancyAttributeName";

Third: when you set the attribute, you set it to an int; when you retrieve it, you need to cast it back to an int:

Code
    int test = (int) player.getAttribute(testattribute);

or maybe to Integer (I am quoting by memory, so I cannot test it):

Code
    int test = (Integer) player.getAttribute(testattribute);

Try these changes and tell us how is going.

• still not 100% sure if my usage is correct, but i did realise i wasn't using " " around the variable. once i did the errors went away. so maybe fixed haha.

also thank you Miwarre!, that helps.