Music Additions/Gramophone, Piano Changes

• I posted this on Steam's forum also, but wanted it here also as this forum seems more direct. I'm not knowledgeable about coding, so I'm open to any feedback on how/why these ideas will/won't work.

I love the fact that the piano keys respond to key presses. I'm a student music producer so I have some ideas to make music a bigger aspect in the game.

First, I would standardize the piano keys to resemble what DAWs offer if users don't have an actual MIDI keyboard.

448474.image0.jpgNotice that ASD are CDE natural, WE are C# and D#, etc. This convention is pretty standard across DAWs, so it would make sense to use it here also.

There could also be a second craft-able piano that requires electricity or some varied resources and has a second set of controls to make it a programmable soft synth. Wouldn't need anything too fancy, just a simple Dual Oscilloscope with additive synthesis. Those controls could mimic simple polyphonic synths needing only waveform/oscillator controls, filter, envelope, and level (LFO or effect aren't vital). This could add a very interesting creative playstyle and players could create studio spaces to jam together with their own synthesized sound. A way to save a few (3-5) presets would also be a boon.

0c8bad1045fbcca669c36db7583aac40.pngWith this sort of synthesis, one player could create a bass synth, another a plucky guitar-like lead, a third long and sustained soft strings. An entire electronic ensemble could be played in Rising World.