Posts by spunky

Ahah a redirect to stdin! Brilliant!

Sorry I am a total amateur.. I have recently been learning about the standard in, standard out, and standard error, so I think I have an idea of what you're saying. I will play with that and see how it goes. Thanks everyone, especially red51 :thumbsup:

Thanks lenko, I am aware of these facts. In fact I've been waiting to find answers to my inquiry for 11 months. Yes, 11 months ago I wrote my reboots script. And released it on github for the community. I've since made it private (for further development). At the time I was actively inquiring this same issue. And I would still really like to know if there are ways to interact with the rcon to complete the cycle, without using any API plugin. I don't think I want my reboots hardcoded into the game. I prefer to be able to run them on demand with let's say Task Scheduler. I don't know if it's a language issue, god knows my language skills are garbage. But the answers have left me with uncertainty? Which is why I've finally asked for developer response. I hope it is not too much to ask.

Simply put, is there ANY way to script rcon commands that doesn't require API? ?(

Thanks @Devidian for your reply. Sounds like your using API plugin to control the shutdowns.

As I stated I would prefer to not use the API for simple rcon commands like say and shutdown.

However, this does appear to be candidate if I do go the API route, so thanks again.

I still very much would like to know about which other methods might work for sending these commands

I'd like to reopen a old topic because I'm not fully understanding, sorry.