Posts by LordFoobar

@Trillnar I actually had a chat with red on the subject so, yes, I know what I'm talking about when I say they are implemented but not released. And this for the reason you so kindly mentioned (the textures need rework), among other things.

As for Unity, I am aware of features of that engine. I am also aware of some games having water being like terrain types (not blocks, actually...) and I am not sure how red will implement this feature in Rising World. But I know JMonkeyEngine too, and I can tell you that voxel water have been discussed for quite some times, now, and most of what I read about that particular subject is that it is not part of the engine yet, so each project need to implement and adapt the technique to their own projects.

But you never know what a developer is thinking.

Somehow, I find that offensive and misguided as I am telling everyone all the time that I am a developer and that I'm often explaining why this and why that. Do you really think that programmers are egocentric selfish people, or something? I am not the type to start insult nor enter silly fights, but come on! Don't talk about things you clearly have no experience with.

@Trillnar as I said, these updates are quite big and you cannot begin to know what kind of issues red and the team has to go through coming from users.... because they do have to deal with customer support, too! The majority of people have a mentality of entitlement and do not know nor care to know what's going on beyond their little noses. What if I tell you that biomes are ready since September, but the decision was made to hold it back a while longer until certain pre-requisites are pushed first?