Multi-Texture Support for custom static models

• Hello all!
    So as most of us know, we have the amazing plugin allowing us to import custom 3D models and placing them in game! (Example: StaticModelLoader)

I absolutely love everything about this plug-in, but a very limiting problem exists when a model has more than 1 texture. Take a stove for example, it will usually have a texture for the range, another one for the body, and another one for the buttons/knobs. But in its current state, the plugin only supports ONE of those textures so you get one funky looking stove.

Does anyone know of/know how to create something for this plugin that allows for multiple textures? I have ZERO knowledge of any coding/writing and dont even know where I would begin. If not, is it possible to edit the model in blender or something to combine all the textures into one? Thank you in advance for any help!

• Currently the only solution for this would be to load multiple models (1 model per texture). Basically this could be incorporated into the plugin to handle this automatically, but it's a bit tricky. Under the hood the game still requires a separate model per texture (unless a TextureArray is used, but that requires a special setup and introduces a few limitations).

We're thinking about adding a better way to handle this in the new version, maybe it will use submeshes.

The only thing you could do now as a workaround would be to merge all textures into a single atlas. For 3ds max, there is a plugin out there which bakes all used materials into a single texture automatically, but I'm not sure if there is also a similar thing for Blender :thinking: If there is no such tool available for Blender, you have to do that manually :silenced:

• I'm not really used in model using, but is there a way to pretent i. E. To show false models at start up?"otherwise the game could fail